Books I want to read…

February 21, 2006

This is my current list of books. The books I’ve been meaning to read for a while. They have been listed randomly in order that I remembered them.

  1. The blue umbrella by Ruskin Bond Need to check if I should buy it for my niece.
  2. Le Ton Beau De Marot: In praise of the Music of Language by Douglas R. Hofstadter I need to read more reviews of this book to figure out what it is all about.
  3. In defense of Globalization by Dr. Jagdish Bhagwati Would definitely like to read this one soon.
  4. Doordarshan Days by Bhaskar Ghose
  5. Innumeracy by John Allen Paulos I’ve already read this book twice and now it’s on the “to-be-bought” list.
  6. Leaves of a Journal, Ruskin Bond’s autobiography Ideally would like it if I can borrow this from someone for reading.

The books listed below are “suggested readings” by President Kalam. I guess he was addressing some school children where he advised them to read these books.

  1. Empires of the Minds by Denis Waitly
  2. Journey into Light by G Venkataraman
  3. A Brief History of Time by S. Hawking
  4. Parallel Worlds by Michao Kaku
  5. The Best of Indian Physics by Dr. Siddarth

Other books suggested by friends and picked up after reading various reviews on blogs, newsgroups, forums etc.

  1. Beyond Fear by Bruce Schneier
  2. Watching the English by Kate Fox
  3. The English : A Portrait of a People by Jeremy Paxman
Leave a Reply

