First conversations

July 20, 2006

Though Aru may not have a great vocabulary, when I take her for walks, she talks endlessly. It seems she tries hard to convey something, because though the words seem senseless to me, she repeatedly says the same thing over and over again. I keep my replies flowing, hoping one would make sense according to her. However, she very earnestly and patiently keeps explaining me. At other times, my replies actually seem to make sense to her and pat comes some response in her language.

The conversations goes something like this-

Aru: (pointing at the swimming pool) Toshi pana papa di di.
Me: Ah. Nice blue water. Looks nice.
Aru: (pointing at the swimming pool) Toshi pana papa di di.
Me : No no. We can’t swim right now, we didn’t get our swimming costumes.
Aru: (pointing at the swimming pool) Toshi pana papa di di.
Me : No Aru, the water is cold. You’ll catch “AA AA Aah Aachooo”.
Aru: (Giggles) Hee hee hee. (She finds my mock sneeze very funny)
Aru: (still pointing at the swimming pool) Toshi pana papa di di.
Me : You want to go on the other side of the pool? Ok. Let’s go.
(We start walking round the pool to go to the other side. But, no. That was not what she was saying…!!)
Aru: (pointing at the swimming pool) Toshi pana papa di di.
Me : Ah. Why isn’t there anyone in the pool? Well, it’s cold! Isn’t it? No one wants to catch “AA AA Aah Aachooo”.
Aru: Hee hee hee. (Some more giggles)
Aru: (still pointing at the swimming pool) Toshi pana papa di di.

Now I’ve run out of possible answers to possible questions.

Me : Aru, you want to go to the gym? Let’s play in the gym.

Aru loves playing in the gym. The huge mirrors, big posters of oily men with bulging biceps and muscles, Bruce Lee’s posters- all of these facinate her! So while I cycle, Aru plays peek-a-boo with herself in the mirror 🙂

Together we march off to the gym!

At other times the conversation goes like this-

As soon as I reach home, even before I can park my scooty, Aru comes running.

Aru: Mamma, mamma, mamma!
Me : Hi Aru! How are you? You had your meal? Did you sleep well in the afternoon? You are wearing a nice dress!!

Aru has something else in her mind. She ignores all my queries.

Aru: Mamma, pochi isshhi to to.
Me : Aaha. You’ve been waiting for long? You know what, I shopped for some vegetables on the way, thats why I’m late. But no problem, I’ll quickly keep my bags in the house and we’ll go and play.
Aru: (Nodding her head) Cho di di tanna.
Me : (feeling encouraged) Should we go to the park or to the gym?
Aru: (running ahead of me and pointing towards the house) Mamma, naa naa toh she issi.
Me : Ofcourse I’ll keep my bags quickly and will be back in a jiffy.
Aru: (giving me a very concerned look) Do dho poti.
Me : No. I won’t be long.

Aru is very pleased and runs off.

I deposit my bags in the house and am out to play with her. There is no time for evening tea or even to wash my face.

I wait eagerly for her to strike another conversation.

Leave a Reply

