Omkara: Go for it

August 3, 2006

Last weekend we saw Omkara. I like Vishal Bharadwaj’s work. Watching ‘Omkara’ reaffirmed my admiration for him. The movie is brilliant. There are few movies I can watch twice, and some rare ones that I can watch again and again. Omkara is definitely one that I can watch many many times; to discover something new every time. To understand the hidden meaning of some dialogue, that oblique reference to someone, to appreciate the song placement, to enjoy the raw, abusive language, that doesn’t sound sanitized for the sensibilities of the masses.

It’s a _must-watch_ movie. However, I have to add, people who are not familiar with the raw, rustic hindi spoken in the villages and small towns of the hindi belt, may miss out on some of the nuances and finer points 😦 But, there is so much more in the movie, that this doesn’t really remain a handicap. The powerful performances by the actors, the excellent soundtrack, the narrative, the superb adaptation will keep you glued to your seats. Vishal Bharadwaj surely treats his audience with some respect and avoids getting into the easy trap of explaining each and every plot and explicitly spelling out everything in the story that is not necessarily shown on screen.

So, catch hold of a hindi friend and head for your favorite cinema theatre! If you don’t find such a friend, what the heck, I wouldn’t mind watching such a good movie in malyalam, so just go ahead and enjoy!

3 Responses to “Omkara: Go for it”

  1. lpatil Says:

    I really like what Vishal Bharadwaj does.. Maqbool was also fantastic (I have not yet seem Omkara!). He reaffirms my belief that movie-making is in some sense similar to writing a book.

    It is literature… While some movie-makers repeatedly generate trash from good concepts, others create art from standard stories and concepts.

  2. Rashmi Says:

    Very true.

    Talking about Vishal Bharadwaj, I loved his ‘Makdee’. And a person who can take children’s movie seriously and do a excellent job of it, is indeed to be taken seriously. One thing that I love about his movie making is- he respects his audience. And that was true even for ‘Makdee’.


  3. […] After a long time, I saw a very good film, Omkara. With Rashmi’s review, I knew this was a good movie, so my expectations were very high! Omkara did not let me down!!! […]

Leave a Reply

