Conveniently conservative

October 19, 2006

I was taking a shower after my gym session when I heard two young female voices outside.  The conversation went something like this-

Girl1: Arrey yaar, I don’t want to go for that off-site after the training.

Girl2: Neither do I, but it’s part of the training so it seems we have to go for it.  But, I agree, 3 days of off-site with people you got acquainted with in a 2 week training is a waste.  If only it was with our “lukkha gang”, I would’ve looked forward to it.

Girl1: Wouldn’t your parents mind?  Will they give you permission to go for the off-site?

Girl2: Ofcourse.  If it’s part of the training, why would they mind?  Besided we are now professionals.  Why did you ask?  Would your parents object to it?

Girl1: No yaar, that’s the problem.  But, I’ll tell the trainer that my parents are a bit conservative and hence they are objecting for the off-site. 

Girl2: Hmm…

Girl1: Yaar, apne faayade ke liye parents ko conservative banane me kya problem hai?  Anyway they are conservative, if not in these matters in some other matters.

(Door opens and closes.  The two young ladies leave.)

2 Responses to “Conveniently conservative”

  1. Lalit Patil Says:

    Great post!!!! I liked “apne fayde ke liye parents ko conservative banane me kya problem hai?” Wow!!! I am glad I have not heard anyone say such a thing.

  2. Reena Says:

    I’m sure these girls must be in there early 20s. Indian youth today do everything for their own benefit. Having a sibling in that age group, I’m exposed to the thoughts of that age group. Their language and attitude towards lifes leaves me speechless most of the time.

Leave a Reply

