Child care products

December 23, 2006

Having two years of experience with mommyhood, I often end up advising young parents about various child care products. The advice is most sought after when the baby arrives. Lateron parents become more confident and start making their own decision without much consultation 🙂 So, I decided to blog about the ones for which I’ve answered most number of queries.

Breastpump

I had some problem feeding Aru and had to use a breastpump. The one I used is this one-

http://www.medela.com/NewFiles/pumps_personalUseElectric.html#pumpinstyle_OriginalI found it very handy, easy and comfortable to use. I used it for
around 7.5 months and I could continue using it despite my joining work
when Aru was three and half months old. Initially my gynaec and Aru’s
paediatrician were not very happy with my choice and they believed that
I would not be able to manage it for long. However, lateron they agreed
that it was probably the best I could do in the circumstances.

In India the use of breastpump is still not quite prevalent and at
times not even acceptable. Families readily opt for formula milk or
cow’s milk if there are any problems with feeding. When working women
decide to join work, they end up weaning the babies when they are
barely 3-4 months old and switch to formula or cow’s milk. Some of them
do continue to feed their babies during night time, but mostly the baby
has formula or cow’s milk. The use of breastpumps is not even
considered.

I’m not sure why paediatricians and gynaecologists in India do not
even recommend using a breastpump when new mothers are faced with
feeding problems or opt for early weaning due to various compulsions.
I’m not at all suggesting use of breastpumps as an alternative to
feeding. That’s a big NO. But I do think it should atleast be
considered an alternative before the switching to formula/cow’s milk.

Sterilizer

If the baby is bottlefed, one has to worry about sterilizing the
bottles and all the paraphernalia that goes with it. In India most
households do this by boiling the bottles, nipples, bowls etc. in a
huge vessel. But, according to my experience it isn’t very effective,
kind of messy and needs attention to ensure that everything stays
immersed in the boiling water. I found steam sterilizers very handy.
The one I used is here-

http://www.farlin.lk/php/category.php?sele=S&name=Sterilizes%20and%20Warmers

I got it from Bonsai (Pune), but one should be able to find it in
most shops stocking child care products. It cost us Rs.2200/-. It a bit
expensive, however, it is worth every rupee and it definitely reduces a
lot of work. They also have smaller sterilizers, but I would personally
recommend this one as it has a lot of space, and hence when the baby
grows up one can continue to use it to sterilize all sorts of utensils,
sippers, baby glasses, spoons etc.

Pram

I started taking Aru for short evening walks when she was around 6
weeks old. I had borrowed her pram from a friend. It was a very
simplistic, no-frill, light-weight pram that really served it’s
purpose. I’ve seen many people buy expensive prams with a lot of
features (the baby can lie down, sit inclined, the foot board can be
pushed down etc.), but they are quite bulky. Ours would easily fit into
our Maruti 800 and as it was quite light-weight we didn’t mind taking
it to all sorts of places. If some place did not provide us with
prams/strollers, we were always prepared 🙂

I would recommend such simple, light-weight prams as they are easy
to carry and hence they get used more and serve their purpose.

4 Responses to “Child care products”

  1. Reena Says:

    Breast pumps are really handy for working mothers and are used extensively by mothers in the west who opt for nusring their child. One of the reasons it is not suggested by doctors in India is the cost. It is expensive even by western standards. If you want a good and effective one like medela then you have to shell out close to $200. If you go for the less effective ones then breast pumping can become a painful experience for the mother. The other reason why it is not commonly suggested is the risk of contamintation. Though the breast milk is pure from contamintaion, the number of surfaces it comes in contact with during the process of pumping is large, as a result the chances of contamination is high.

  2. littlenotes Says:

    Reena, I agree the cost of breastpumps is prohibitive, but there is nothing wrong in the doctors making people aware of it. The choice is after all to be made by the parents. I have many friends who were aware of breastpumps, but didn’t know whom to talk about it and hence decide to switch to formula. And these were working moms, who’d have definitely opted for breastpumps if only they knew more about it, despite it being so expensive. I have helped two young moms switch to breastpump when they had almost made up their mind to switch to formula for lack of option. It felt great to see two tiny babies getting the benefit of breast milk when everyone had given up.

    Though I may talk so highly about the use of breastpumps, I strongly feel that they should be considered an option only when one has run out of all other options of nursing the baby. It’s like the use of diapers. In India we use diapers only when it’s absolutely absolutely necessary. Otherwise the child is left free.

    I agree on your second point about the risk of contamination. I was paranoid about it and used to take extra extra care to ensure everthing was cleaned properly. The steamer that I mention came in really handy.

  3. Deepa Says:

    Rashmi, I completely agree with you. Our local hospital in US offered a breastfeeding class and in that class we were introduced with breastpumps. No other class that I took during pregnancy was as useful as this. Due to this class, I was able to overcome a few problems. I started using Medela pump-in-style after I went back to work, and I am extremely happy with it. I was able to feed my child for one year with the help of the pump.

    Some of my cousins and friends in India had similar problems. Unfortunately, they did not know anything about breastpumps or breastfeeding in general and they had to switch to formula or cow’s milk too soon. I think conducting such a class and giving information about breastpumps will definitely help new mothers.

  4. monika Says:

    cn u suggest me the tel no for bonsai in pune

Leave a Reply

