Some surprise

January 30, 2007

Aru is at a age where she keeps throwing surprises at us every now and then.

Yesterday while I was cooking her evening meal, she was sitting on the platform popping grapes. I was humming various songs to myself, little knowing that Aru was actually paying attention and following me. While I was at “Barso re meghaa meghaa…”, from Guru, she suddenly chimed in singing “Kosaa hai kosaa hai, barish ka bosaa hai”. I was completely taken aback. I wasn’t even sure I had heard it. It was almost as if I had imagined it. All my attempts to make her sing again failed as she kept on saying, “Mamma, yeh gana nahin sunnaa hai. Happy (referring to the rhyme- If you are happy and you know it…) sunna hai.”

May be I’ll have some luck today 🙂

3 Responses to “Some surprise”

  1. Reena Says:

    Children and surprises are synonyms 🙂

  2. Reena Says:

    I had a similar experience when my son was around 19 months old. I was upstairs doing some chores and my son was downstairs playing with my husband. The noise stopped after a while, and I thought both must be taking a nap. I tiptoed downstairs and was most surprised to see my son patting his father to sleep singing the entire stanza of “nanhi paree soney chali hawa dheerey aanaa”, the lullaby I sang to put him to sleep. He was not even talking in complete sentences then 🙂

  3. littlenotes Says:

    🙂

    That’s what surprised me too. She has just started talking in sentences. Mostly she copies us and repeats what we say.

    I guess songs and rhymes have a rhythm and hence kids learn them easily. For example, the day care that Aru goes to also has a nursery. And hearing them do their ABCs, Aru has also reciting the Alphabet song! I sometimes worry how bored she would get when she actually starts going to nursery 😦

Leave a Reply

